Who now?

December 24, 2010

Proofing an essay just now, I came to the end and felt like I was in the mashup of a Philip K. Dick story and the gospel of Mark. The bio began: “MICHAEL CHRULEW is a postdoctoral fellow at the Centre for Research on…”

But I denied it, saying, “I do not know or understand what you are talking about.”

Then the copyright notice read: “©Michael Chrulew.”

But again I denied it.

Then the citation details began: “Chrulew, Michael. “[Title of essay]…”

I began to curse, and I swore an oath, “I do not know this man you are talking about.”

Cockadoodle-doo, boo-hoo, etc. I get it, personal identity is illusory. Whatever. If only this bizarro me would go write all our other unfinished essays rather than duplicating work I’ve already done. Useless facsimile.

Leave a Reply

